Results: Manchester Cathedral Poetry Competition 2014

Published: 02 October 2014

We are delighted to announce that the winner of the Manchester Cathedral Poetry Competition 2014 is Jo Bell with her poem ‘Infallible’. Jo takes the title of ‘Manchester Cathedral Poet of the Year, 2014’.

Jo’s winning poem will be published in the November edition of Cathedral News.

Many congratulations also go to Sheila Wild, who won second prize, and Frances Corkey Thompson, who won third prize. High commendations were awarded to Gillian Rathbone. Jonathan Wooding, Jennifer A. McGowan, Julian Dobson, Kate Wise, Martyn Halsall, Jacqui Rowe.

The competition continues to go from strength to strength, with one hundred and fifty poets entering over four hundred poems.

The three prize-wining poems and seven highly-commended poems will be published in our Manchester Cathedral Poetry Competition booklet. To order, please send a cheque or postal order for £4.00 made payable to Manchester Cathedral, to:
Poetry Competition
Manchester Cathedral
Victoria Street
M3 1SX

The annual prize-giving ceremony, which is part of the Manchester Literature Festival calendar, is to take place in Manchester, on Wednesday 15 October at 2.30 pm. The afternoon will feature readings from the shortlisted poets and the competition judge, Helen Tookey.

This is a free event, but places should be booked via the Manchester Literature Festival website.


Back  |  Print this article

More News