Poetry Competition Results

  • News
  • 3 October 2013

We are delighted to announce that the winner of the Manchester Cathedral Poetry Competition 2013 is Elizabeth Burns with her poem ‘Annunciation’. Elizabeth takes the title of ‘Manchester Cathedral Poet of the Year, 2013’.

Elizabeth’s winning poem will be published in the November issue of Cathedral News.

Many congratulations also go to Phil Isherwood and Rosie Garland, who won joint-second prize. High commendations were awarded to Susan Elliot, Victoria Field, Diane Pacitti, Chris Fewings, Jonathon Wooding, Susan Bedford and Margaret Wilmot.

The three prize-wining poems and seven highly-commended poems will be published in our Manchester Cathedral Poetry Competition booklet. To order, please send a cheque or postal order for £4.00 made payable to Manchester Cathedral, to:
Poetry Competition
Manchester Cathedral
Victoria Street
M3 1SX

The annual prize-giving ceremony, which is part of the Manchester Literature Festival calendar, is to take place in St Ann’s Church, on Tuesday 15 October at 2.00 pm. The afternoon will feature readings from the shortlisted poets and the competition judge, Nicola Slee.

This is a free event, but places can be booked via the Manchester Literature Festival website.